Skip to Search
Skip to Navigation
Skip to Content

University of Connecticut Diversity

Diversity Strategic Planning Committee

Town Hall Livestream Oct 30, 2013

Scope

Beginning in the summer of 2013, the Office of the Vice Provost for Diversity, in conjunction with the Office of Diversity and Equity, established a committee to help shape a new Strategic Plan for Diversity for the University of Connecticut. The goal is to establish a new strategic plan for the Vice Provost Office for Diversity, which will provide a visionary set of goals and objectives for this office and, in turn, the University. The committee is charged with developing bold ideas and approaches to advance efforts to recruit, retain, and ensure equity of faculty, staff, and students.

The University is committed to a diverse and inclusive environment, where differences are welcomed and valued. As our communities and workplaces become increasingly more diverse, understanding the perspectives of diversity will be an important requirement for relating to members of the University community. The University of Connecticut envisions itself as a community that welcomes, encourages, and supports individuals who desire to contribute to and benefit from the institution's missions of teaching, research, performance, and community service. The Diversity Strategic Planning Committee (DSPC), composed of a wide cross-section of the UConn community, will meet with various constituencies across campus in the fall of 2013 in its efforts to incorporate various perspectives and be broadly informed.

 

Timeline

The DSPC will meet with various faculty, staff and student groups in the fall, as well as host a Town Hall meeting open to the University community. Its final report will be submitted to the Provost in February 2014. The date for the Town Hall meeting will be held at 4PM on October 30, 2013 at the Konover Auditorium in the J. Thomas Dodd Research Center.

 

Member List- July 2013

Elizabeth Conklin, co-head
Associate Vice President, Office of Diversity and Equity, Title IX Coordinator
elizabeth.conklin@uconn.edu

Jeffrey O. G. Ogbar, co-head
Vice Provost for Diversity and Professor of History
jeffrey.ogbar@uconn.edu

Mark Overmyer-Velazquez, chair
Associate Professor, Director of El Instituto: Institute of Latina/o, Caribbean and Latin American Studies
mark.velazquez@uconn.edu

Greg Bouquot
Associate Registrar
gregory.bouquot@uconn.edu

William Jelani Cobb
Associate Professor of History and Director of the Institute of African American Studies
william.cobb@uconn.edu

Robert Colbert
Associate Professor, Neag School of Education, Department of Educational Psychology
robert.colbert@uconn.edu

Fe Delos-Santos
Program Specialist, Asian American Studies Institute
fe.delos-santos@uconn.edu

Terri Dominguez
Manager, Occupational Health & Safety and EH&S Administrative Services
terri.dominguez@uconn.edu

Maria-Luz Fernandez
Professor, College of Agriculture and Natural Resources, Department of Nutritional Sciences
maria-luz.fernandez@uconn.edu

Peter Luh
SNET Professor of Communications & Information, Department of Electrical & Computer Engineering
peter.luh@uconn.edu

Allison MacKay
Associate Professor, School of Engineering, Civil and Environmental Engineering
allison.mackay@uconn.edu

Maria Martinez
ISS Assistant Vice Provost, CAP Director & McNair Director
maria.d.martinez@uconn.edu

Willena Price
Director, H. Fred Simons African American Cultural Center
willena.price@uconn.edu

Eugene Salorio
Associate Professor in Residence, School of Business, Department of Management
eugene.salorio@uconn.edu

Charmane Thurmand
Special Assistant to the Dean of the Graduate School for Diversity Programs
charmane.thurmand@uconn.edu

Dana Wilder
Assistant Vice Provost for Academic Affairs and Diversity
dana.wilder@uconn.edu

Ted Yungclas
Assistant Dean, School of Fine Arts
ted.yungclas@uconn.edu

 

ODE Representatives

Katherine Johansen
Search Compliance Coordinator
Katherine.johansen@uconn.edu

Hanna Prytko
Search Compliance Coordinator
Hanna.prytko@uconn.edu

 

Graduate Student Representatives

Jason Charrette
President of Graduate Student Senate
Jason.charrette@uconn.edu

Safet Berisa
Chair of the Student Life Committee
Safet.berisa@uconn.edu

 

Undergraduate Student Representative

Shiv Gandhi
Speaker of the Student Senate
shiv.gandhi@uconn.edu